Mr. Bread Man

In the land of kawaii (cute) creatures and critters starring as mascots everywhere and for everything, AND the land that brings you Chocolate Chip Melon Bread and Pan in a Can, it shouldn’t be surprising that our favorite bakery, Antendo, has two adorable stuffed slices of bread waiting to greet customers at the door.

What is surprising, however, is that they look exactly like Mr. Bread Man, a character my sister-the-artist invented – and drew everywhere – when she was about three years old.  I have a full page drawing of three-year-old Erin’s rendition of Mr. Bread Man from sometime in the late 1980s saved between the pages of my 4th and 5th grade photo album. It looks pretty much exactly like these guys.

Who knew Mr. Bread Man would go on to become an international bakery mascot?!

2 thoughts on “Mr. Bread Man

  1. I love it. That is exactly what I thought of when I opened the blog today. Mr. Bread Man! I used to think Erin should write a book about him, now he can be an international traveller!

  2. I may have mastered the skill of rendering beautiful carb-family-characters at an early age……but today I just learned I can actually comment in your blog! I love this, and all your posts! 🙂

Leave a Reply

